top of page

One of My Better Introductions


The most professional selfie I've taken for a while

I suppose this should be an introductory sort of blog post since it is my first entry. I am very practiced at introductory sort of posts because I just recently graduated from Indiana University East where I took a fair amount of online classes that demand such unnecessary things. So I suppose I'll get on with the introduction of myself that I've written various versions of for various classes. I'm certain this is going to be draft number 15 or something ridiculous like that.

My name is Brenna and I am no longer a fine arts major at IUE, but am now a freshly graduated person who can boast of one bachelor's degree in a subject that I'm certain I've only barely begun to understand. Art is something that I believe I could study for the rest of my life and never fully understand it. Sometimes I feel close to it, and yet other times it is as foreign to me as an alien race. I call myself an artist, and truly believe that it is so, even while art is something that I struggle to define or fully comprehend.

I apologize if at times my writing sounds more like a 19th century English gentleman than a 20 something American. I love period dramas of all kinds and have recently begun reading Bram Stoker's Dracula so I'll blame my sometimes formal style on Jonathan Harker's journal entries. My favorite book is Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë, and my favorite movie is probably the 2005 adaptation of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. There's something about a good historical setting, men wearing creamy cravats, and women in gorgeous dresses that gets me right in my happy place.

In a not-so-happy place my parents divorced when I was one which was a source of pain for me for a large part of my life and still is sometimes. Not necessarily the divorce itself, but how it made my brother and I strangers to our father in the following years. My mother married my stepfather not long after her divorce, and that was a very good thing. Out of that very good thing came my sister.

My parents' divorce made me understand that romantic relationships, and marriages, were not mere trifles, but life-altering things. Life-altering not only for those involved but also for those to come who haven't even been thought of yet. This understanding is probably part of why I did not date in high school and dated very little in college. I met my current boyfriend in college and we started dating my junior year, and we've now been dating for about a year and a half.

The above covers most of the normal life stuff. I consider myself to be somewhat of a fickle person who has interests in a wide variety of pursuits, which is making it difficult for me to figure out exactly what I would like to accomplish with my life. I've decided to start writing this blog to give myself a space where I can freely experiment with all of my interests. I hope the blog will also help to keep me motivated to actually do the things I'm interested in instead of merely thinking I would like to do them. As an added bonus, I really enjoy writing and have had the itch to start something like a blog for a couple of years now. My only problem was I could never settle on just one area of interest for my blog posts, because I am interested in many things and would like to write about many things. This blog is hopefully going to cover topics such as movies, books, art, psychology, relationships, death, life, etc. I'd also like to use the blog to record my personal projects and experiences.

That's probably one of the better introductions I've written. Looks like my art degree wasn't a waste afterall.

bottom of page