top of page

New Work

Wow you guys so sorry it's been a month since my first blog post, and I'm just now getting around to writing the second. Maybe I overestimated my ability to write one a week, but I'm still striving for that ideal, because without ideals to strive for what do we have?


A little update: I recently submitted a piece of my work to a show called Synthesis at the Dutoit Gallery in Dayton, OH. The exhibition dates are Friday, October 2 - Saturday, October 24, 2020. If you'd like to make the trip to go see the show the open hours will be Sunday, October 18, 11-4 p.m. and Saturday, October 24, 12-4 p.m. The piece I submitted actually sold, which I'm excited about since it's the first time I've sold a piece in a gallery setting.

Installation Shot of Woman Holding Flowers, 2020 Photo Creds to Ann Kim

As far as new work goes, I'll be starting a new project on Monday. I will be creating a handsewn quilt out of a bridesmaids dress that my roommate didn't have any use for anymore. This will be my first foray into quilting and I'm very excited to start learning this new medium. I've already prewashed the fabric, removed the lace bodice from the skirt and purchased the quilt batting. Unfortunately, I'm not sure if I'll be able to use the gorgeous lace bodice due to the fact that my roommate ordered the dress online and when it arrived it smelled like death. I was able to get the smell out of the skirt material, but my efforts have been in vain when it comes to the lace. If anyone has any tips for getting the smell out feel free to message me on Instagram.


I'm not sure what the final quilt is going to look like since I'm not using any specific pattern. I'm approaching it as a work of art, but it will be a functional quilt in the end not a wall hanging. I plan to make wall hangings in the future (maybe a body of work?), but for this first one it was important to me that it be functional. I'm not sure how long this project will take me and I'm not setting my self any specific timeline, but I do plan on giving updates through my blog posts as the project progresses. If I can hit my ideal there'll be an update here next week.


All this is in the works and hopefully I'll have an exciting update for you all the next time I write!

bottom of page